Northcote Country Soul

Northcote Country SoulThis 2002 Melbourne International Comedy Festival show from the Drowsy Drivers was ostensibly a musical adaptation of the Melways road directory book, but was really just an excuse to string together a whole bunch of songs about Melbourne and/or Australia (many of which came from the first two Drowsy Drivers albums). It tied with “The Trade” for Best Newcomer in the 2002 Barrys and was nominated for four Green Room Awards, winning for “Best Original Music – Cabaret”.

The band was Justin Ludowyk (acoustic guitar), Ross McFerran (electric guitar), Kevin McFerran (drums), Cam Rogers (bass), Enio Pozzebon (keyboards) and Casey Bennetto (vocals). The show was staged at, produced by and – to be honest – prodded into existence by the Store Room, specifically by its founders Todd MacDonald and Ben Harkin. And hey, we all had fun!

The running order of the show was:

01) Tullamarine
02) The Book
03) Squeegee
04) Over The River
05) Endear (And I Do)
06) Churlish
Video Break: One More Time (feat. 5 Wayz)
07) Senseless (feat. 5 Wayz)
08) Northland
09) Chasing
10) Dear John
11) The Big Banana
12) Tullamarine (Reprise)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *